LivingWithThePain's Blog











{July 7, 2010}   Yet Another Disappointment

So, I am trying to better myself at work.  Sure, everyone says “you’ll be great” or “you’ll do fine” and then everything is not great or fine.  So I tried for a higher position, that is my ultimate goal at work and was denied.

Not a typical denial, but one full of bullshit.  Seriously, I thought it was up to the interviewer to find out the details that they are looking for?  I thought it was the interviewer that was supposed to help lead you to the information that they wanted or even do some homework on what you have done for the company in the past.

This did not happen.  I was given some really bad advise and it made everything fall apart.  A few people told me to focus on the now and what you are doing now, stay with the current company and the experiences that you have had over the last few months.  Well, that didn’t turn out so good, as then it looks to the recruiter that this is ALL the experience that you have. 

The point of the story is, if something worked for you the first time, then do it again.  Wait until you get past the HR rep to start talking about what you have done only at this company.  Otherwise your experiences will not look like much.

So to my friends who know me,  I didn’t get passed on the second round!  Believe it or not, I’m not mad.  It’s disappointing, but I am happy where I am and know that it is my fault and interviewing skills that were lacking in this situation, not me and my experiences.

Erika

You are always a tough cookie, I agree, go with the gut always. You are talented and will kick ass.

Love ya, miss ya,
Rebecca



Leave a Reply

et cetera
