LivingWithThePain's Blog











{March 4, 2010}   Having A Wonderful Supervisor

I have a wonderful Supervisor at work. 

She understands my situation with Fibromyalgia.  She told me that she has a dear friend with it and helps her out when she needs the support to carry on.  It really helps to have someone on your side that truly understands.  She doesn’t know the extent of the pain, as she has never experienced it herself, but she can see it.

The other day I went to her office for a meeting and she was looking at her computer when I first sat down.  When she finally looked at me, she said to me, “This is a bad day, I’m sorry let me know if there is something I can do.”  I was  amased because I was smiling and talking to her just with a smile in my voice.

She could tell by my facial expression that she actually knew, so she just said the “rocking.”  I didn’t even know that I was rocking.  It’s something that I have been told that I do when the pain gets really bad.  Unconsciously, I rock because the motion actually helps ease the pain, even for just a moment.

Anytime I really need something that has to do with my pain, she is willing to help in any way possible.  My boyfriend even has someone in another department that is looking out for me.  It’s nice to know that people care, and I am glad that I am not taking advantage of the assistance that is offered.  I don’t want them to think that I take things for granted and that I truly appreciate the things that they do, no matter the efforts.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
