LivingWithThePain's Blog











{February 27, 2010}   The Things We Do….

The things we do for our loved ones.  My oldest daughter Lexy who is 6 had her very first skate party today.  She was terrified to get out there and to be honest so was I. 

We helped her get the basics of skating and then she and I went out on the floor.  As we were going around, I had to catch her so many times that I stopped counting.  Of course I am not paying the price.  My boyfriend asked if I wanted to keep her over night, which I always want her with me, but tonight I knew that I could not do it.

I had to take her back to her dad’s house.  To which I walked in to a crying child.  The youngest, Bri, was crying that she thought that I was going to pick her up today.  I was upset that I had disappointed her, but glad I only had one child to take around the skating rink.

Their father was suppose to meet me and Lexy at the rink with Bri, so the  4 of us could do this together for the first time.  Having both of us there gave us each someone to help incase it got crazy.  He called and said that he had a bad stomach and that he and Bri were going to go on home.  So I took Lexy, since it was her party.

When I first arrived at the school to get her, she gave me a huge hug.  Then on the way to the car, she asks if we were going skating.  I of course asked how she was feeling because the Ex said he might have given them bad food that day.  Nothing was going to keep her from this party though.

So we go and encounter all the tears.  She was so scared of falling that she did not want to get out onthe floor.  So for those of you who know me, I told her straight to her face, “You Will Fall Many Times!!”  I am always honest with my kids.  Once she fell and got it out of her system she was good.  We went round and round that rink.

Now she can’t wait to go back.  My boyfriend and I may take her and her sister to a night skate but I am cautious as all the older kids are going to be there too. 

I am glad that she had a good time.  I will have to take her sister next time and see how the “Dare Devil” likes it.

Now of course I feel like I have been hit by a bus.  I will pay for it for the next few days but it is definitely well worth it since she had a really good time.  I am just glad that I am off tomorrow to re-coop.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
